Shakti Chattopadhyay’s legal declaration in the Hungryalist trial

Statement dated 18th February 1965 of Shakti Chattopadhyay, son of late Bama Charan Chatterjee of 4 Adhar Chandra Das lane:

My name is Shakti Chatterjee. I am aged about 31 years. I am BA and also a writer. I am also a casual translator of USIS. It is a fact that this literary movement was started by me with some friends. I severed every connection with the the organisation realising that they had diverted from the original idea.  I have seen the booklet entitled Hungry Generation in which my name has been used as the publisher of the book. I had no relationship with so called Hungry Generation and this book was not published by me. I know Malay Roychoudhury and his elder brother Samir Roychoudhury, Subhas Ghosh, Saileswar Ghosh, Pradip Choudhuri, Utpal Basu. I know the handwriting of Malay Roychoudhury. I do not know from where this publication were printed and who financed it.

According to my estimation this writing of Malay manifested mental perversion and language is vulgar.

I also saw a copy of the booklet and strongly condemned the poem captioned Prachanda Bayidyutik Chhutar (  প্রচণ্ড বৈদ্যুতিক ছুতার  ) written by Malay.

( The FIR was filed on 2nd September 1964 . Shakti Chattopadhyay’s name did not figure in the FIR. This statement was  recorded  by him after several months viz on 18th February 1965. He has never clarified as to why he volunteered to become a police witness against the Hungryalists in the trial ; who lured him with a quid pro quo ; or what type of pressures were exerted on him, and if so, by whom.  Why did he say that his name has been shown as publisher when the booklet had the name and address of Samir Roychoudhury as the publisher. )

imagesCAEKLU3F

About ডিটেকটিভ

Keep reading and get enlightened
This entry was posted in Hungryalism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

